May onwards – Paws forward

My assumptions that all dogs were ready and eager for a walk (based on my own experiences with canines) were dashed after I encountered the lovely residents of Animal Care. Staffie-cross Cleo was an overweight old lady who waddled along at her own pace, plump jack russell Della wanted to be bribed to walk an extra five steps (no delicious titbits for you, Della, you’re meant to be on a diet!) Emma was a beautiful, gentle lurcher who preferred to sniff the fascinating smells at her leisure and chow chow Millie was too hot in her fur coat on a summer’s day to venture far. There were, of course, the younger boys and girls who reminded me more of my own two rascals (sorry, Molly and Teddy, I mean jack russells!) Bouncy Roxy, a black lab-type; well-named Bullet, a lurcher who wanted to run; amiable jacks Nelson and Bella; and friendly and pulling-on-the-lead jack Kip. All adorable, the worst thing about walking dogs at a charity is the impossible desire to take all of them home. Instead I hope all my canine pals I met (and their fellows) get brilliant homes with wonderful people. And one day I hope to give a rescue dog a great home too.

6 thoughts on “May onwards – Paws forward

  1. lindasschaub

    It would be tempting Clare! I am walking in a charity 5K for a local animal shelter – it is an annual event and called “The Mutt Strut” and even though I don’t have a dog to walk with me, I’m sure there will be enough others there to enjoy. Dogs are allowed to participate in the 5K run or walk, plus they have a separate event for those who just want to walk a two-mile course.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment